The Alma Dea Morani Award is our most prestigious form of recognition, given to a woman who has left a significant mark on history and pivotally advanced the future. Our community of awardees is second to none, with achievements that often break entirely new ground. We are proud to name the discovery of the breast cancer gene, the appointment of the first woman president of the American Psychiatric Association, and the founding of the Program in Narrative Medicine at Columbia among the many milestones our awardees have attained.

Specifically, this award will honor an outstanding woman physician or scientist who has

  • Furthered the practice and understanding of medicine in our lifetime and made significant contributions outside of medicine;
  • Utilized their own determination and spirit to carry themselves beyond traditional pathways in medicine and science; and,
  • Challenged the status quo with a passion for learning.

Join us on November 7, 2018 for this year's award presentation.

Meet Our 2018 Awardee

Award Committee

Carol C. Nadelson, M.D.

Professor of Psyciatry at Harvard Medical School
Chair, FHWIM Alma Dea Morani Award Committee

Rita Charon, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Medicine at Columbia University Medical Center
Executive Director, Program in Narrative Medicine at Columbia University

Virginia Drachman, Ph.D.

Arthur Stern, Jr. Professor of American History at Tufts University

Deborah German, M.D.

Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Central Florida
Dean, University of Florida College of Medicine

Florence Haseltine Ph.D., M.D.

Emerita Scientist at the National Institutes of Health

Wilma Bulkin Siegel, M.D.

Past Award Recipients

2017 - Carol Greider, Ph.D.

Director of Molecular Genetics and Biology at Johns Hopkins University Medical School

2017 - Elizabeth Blackburn, Ph.D.

President of the Salk Institute for Biological Studies

2016 - Paula Johnson, MD, MPH

President, Wellesley College and Executive Director and Chief of the Division of Women's Health at Brigham and Women's Hospital

2015 - Mary-Claire King, PhD

American Cancer Society Research Professor of Genetics and Medicine (Medical Genetics) at the University of Washington

2014 - Deborah German, M.D.

Vice President for Medical Affairs, Dean, College of Medicine at the University of Central Florida

2013 - Florence P. Haseltine, Ph.D., M.D.

Emerita Director, Center for Population Research at the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute for Public Health (NICHD) of the National Institutes of Health

2012 - N. Lynn Eckhert, MD, MPH, DrPH

Interim Dean of the Lebanese American University in Beirut and Director of Academic Programs at Partners Healthcare International in Boston; Professor of Family Medicine and Community Health, Professor in the Graduate School of Nursing and Adjunct Professor in Public Health at the University of Massachusetts Medical School; Senior Lecturer in Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School

2011 - Rita Charon, M.D., Ph. D.

Professor of Clinical Medicine at the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University and Executive Director of the Program in Narrative Medicine

2010 - Marjorie S. Sirridge, M.D. ⚚︎

Professor of Medicine, Emerita, of the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine

2009 - Carol C. Nadelson, M.D.

Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School and Director of Partners Office for Women’s Careers at Brigham and Women’s Hospital

2008 - Ellen R. Gritz, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair of the Department of Behavioral Science and Olla S. Stribling Distinguished Chair for Cancer Research at The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

2007 - Catherine D. DeAngelis, M.D., MPH

Editor-in-chief of JAMA, The Journal of the American Medical Association

2006 - Mary Guinan, Ph.D., M.D.

Dean, School of Public Health UNLV

2005 - Audrey E. Evans, M.D.

The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

2004 - Christine E. Haycock, M.D.,FACS ⚚︎

Former Professor Emeritus of Surgery, New Jersey Medical School at University Hospital

2003 - Mary Ellen Avery, M.D. ⚚︎

Thomas Morgan Rotch Professor of Pediatrics, Emerita, Harvard Medical School

2002 - Carola B. Eisenberg, M.D.

Lecturer in Social Medicine, Harvard Medical School

2001 - Barbara Barlow, M.D., FACS

Director of Surgery, Columbia University, and Director, Injury Free Coalition for Kids

2000 - Alma Dea Morani, M.D., FACS ⚚︎

First Woman accepted into the Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

⚚ Deceased

Our Partner

BNY Mellon Wealth Management is a leading wealth manager, ranked a Top 10 U.S. Wealth Manager by Barron’s in 2017. The firm has more than two centuries of experience in providing services to financially successful individuals and families, and their charitable and business enterprises. BNY Mellon Wealth Management provides investment management, custody, wealth and estate planning and private banking services through an extensive network of offices in the U.S. and internationally. For more information contact Janice Sturchio, Senior Wealth Director, at 617-248-3108 or