Maria Cerny Brabb Scholarship

Maria Cerny Brabb, MD, WMC 1958, made an endowment gift in 1999 to establish scholarship support for female students at Drexel University College of Medicine and to support the annual operating budget of the Foundation.

Dr. Brabb made the gift in memory of her mother. The gift will live in perpetuity, helping hundreds of young women who wish to study medicine while simultaneously supporting the history of women in medicine as it is being written. In the words of Dr. Brabb, “It was a gift with the greatest impact.”

About Maria Cerny Brabb, MD

Dr. Maria Brabb’s journey began with her birth in Prague, Czechoslovakia. Her mother moved the family to Montreal, Canada when Dr. Brabb was five years old. Dr. Brabb received all of her pre-medical education in Canada.

Medicine had always interested Dr. Brabb; her family and teachers encouraged her to pursue this interest. After a rather unfavorable interview where she was asked why she wanted to take a man’s place, she sought out another medical school. After her interview and acceptance at Woman’s Medical College, she was satisfied that she would not have to face the same obstacles. Entering the WMC Class of ’58, Dr. Brabb was the youngest in her class at age 20. Dr. Brabb felt that her experience at WMC was very positive in many respects. The School was “female friendly” and the hands-on experience she received prepared her for the practice of medicine. After an internship in Montreal, Dr. Brabb went to Kaiser Permanente in San Francisco for a rotation in internal medicine. She remained there until her retirement.

Past Scholarship Recipients

2017-2021 Recipient
Sarah Barlow

2015 Recipients
Frances Adachi
Lara Kose

2014 Recipients
Stephanie Santana
Briana Leung

2013 Recipients
Brittany Crowley
Emily Hejazi

2011 Recipients
Dania Joseph
A’Sha Brown

2010 Recipients
Krystilyn Washington
Natalee Young

2009 Recipients
Alicia Howard
Amina Watkins

2008 Recipients
Jennifer Cabral
Nadya Clarke

2007 Recipients
Chanelle Coble
Cynelle Murray

2006 Recipients
Nicole Camp
Sharron Manuel

2005 Recipient
Naa Sackey

2004 Recipients
Adelaide Adjovu
Varerie Orrico
Elizabeth Gomes

2003 Recipients
Catarina Castaneda
Nina Cheung
Crystal Le
Majd Sanaz

2002 Recipients
Traci Bennett
Jennifer Capela
Yolanda Golzalez
Alicia Rojas-Wainer

2001 Recipients
Jessilina Grinder
Erin Hott
Nicole Smith